Skip to content
Siete qui: Home Festival 2011 Calendar Noseda, Filarmonica della Scala 8/30
Noseda, Filarmonica della Scala PDF Print E-mail





Other picture at the link Multimedia


In collaboration with VCO Azzurra TV

Tuesday August 30 2011, 8.30 p.m.


Leif Ove Andsnes, piano
Filarmonica della Scala
Gianandrea Noseda, conductor

C.M. von Weber, Der Freitschütz, Ouverture
L. van Beethoven, Piano concerto no. 1
A. Dvořák, Symphony no. 8

Some composers are famous for just one work. Mascagni and Leoncavallo for example are identified more or less only with their operas Cavalleria rusticana and I pagliacci. In symphonic music too there are strange cases, like the two composers who open and close this program. Weber is mostly known for his Invitation to the Dance, and sometimes it seems that the only piece Dvořák composed was the New World Symphony. In actual fact both were prolific. Weber wrote absolute masterpieces such as Oberon and Der Freischutz which link Beethoven’s Fidelius with Wagner’s great operas. Dvořák too wrote many major symphonic pieces, and magnificent sacred music, including the moving Stabat Mater; his production includes the opera Rusalka which is the Slav synthesis of Wagner’s works.
These two great figures have an interesting point in common – artistic integrity. You’ll find no falsehood in their music or clever tricks and facile effects to attract attention. There is just the natural beauty and sincerity that explains their greatness and makes them extraordinarily communicative.

Gianandrea Noseda


Read the concert's notes

Stresa Congress Hall is situated in the heart of the town, few meters from the railway station and from all the most important hotels and restaurants.